You are here: Home Ceres Conference Joan Bavaria Award Eligibility & Rules
Document Actions
  • Print this
  • Email this page

Eligibility & Rules

Information about the eligibility requirements and rules for the Joan Bavaria Award for Building Sustainability into Capital Markets.

The Joan Bavaria Award honors a unique investor, business, or NGO leader who works to transform capital markets into a system that balances economic prosperity with social and environmental concerns. The award is given to one individual annually.


  • Nominees must come from the investment, business, or NGO communities.
  • Nominees can work within the North American and international markets.
  • Nominees must share the spirit of collaboration and coalition-building demonstrated by Joan Bavaria and the organizations she founded (Trillium Asset Management LLC, The Social Investment Forum and Ceres).
  • Nominees cannot have demonstrated a pattern of egregious behavior counter to the spirit of the Awards
  • Anonymous and self-nominations as well as nominations of organizations will not be accepted.
  • Employees of Trillium and Ceres, as well as participating judges, are not eligible for nomination.



The nomination form includes five qualitative questions; all must be answered for nominations to be considered by the judges.

Nominations must be accompanied by contact information for a third-party reference that the judges may contact; a letter of expressed reference seconding the nomination is optional. Other supporting materials are welcome.

Nominations must be submitted online by the date specified on the Joan Bavaria Award website. Any extensions will be granted at the discretion of Ceres and Trillium.

Nominees will be automatically considered for a total of two years before being removed from the judging pool.


The five-member judging panel includes representatives from the investment, business, and/or NGO sectors.

Award Presentation

The Joan Bavaria Award is presented at the annual Ceres Conference. The award winner and his/her nominator will be notified at least two weeks before the annual Ceres Conference. There is no monetary prize associated with the award.

For more information

For questions about the Joan Bavaria Award, nominations criteria, or to request a nomination extension, please contact Brian Sant.

Previous Winners


Geeta Aiyer, Founder and President of Boston Common Asset Management


Sister Patricia Daly, OP, Executive Director, Tri-State Coalition for Responsible Investment


Phil Angelides, President, Riverview Captial Investments


Tessa Tennant, The Ice Organisation


Impact Award
Peter Kinder, Co-Founder of KLD Researh & Analytics
Innovation Award
William Foote, Root Capital


Impact Award
Tim Smith, Walden Asset Management
Innovation Award
The Center for Political Accountability


Impact and Innovation Awards
Robert K. Massie


Impact Award
Enhanced Analytics Initiative
Innovation Award

Bainbridge Graduate Institute